Advertisement

Breaking News

Carlos Queiroz To Miss AFCON Final After Seeing Red Against Cameroon - Africaflavournews

 


Carlos Queiroz will miss Egypt’s Africa Cup of Nations final with Senegal.

The Pharos overcame tournament favourites Cameroon after a sluggish semi-final went all the way to penalties that saw them set up a huge showpiece event on Sunday.

Two giants of the African game, Senegal have never won the AFCON and Egypt’s last victory came back in 2010 and the fact they will meet in a World Cup qualifier next month adds further fuel to the fire.

Carlos Queiroz, a vastly experienced coach on the international stage, was sent off deep into the second-half after taking an issue with referee Bakary Gassama one too many times.

An incident between Ramadan Sobhi and Nouhou Tolo appeared to be the boiling point with Queiroz calling for the latter’s dismissal after an altercation between the two.

Assistant coach Rodger De Sa was almost sent to the stands too but escaped with only a yellow card before regulation time was up.

As a result, he will now miss the final on Sunday

No comments